#WDIIA – April 6 – Sadness

5E55B209-A284-4D14-8950-0B70C669DB9FThank you to  Maggie for this graphic. She attempted to teach me how to make a graphic on an app and I have not mastered it.

Thank you to Linda for this blogging topic. What Day Is It Anyway is a common thought lately so it makes an appropriate blog topic.

I have been isolated except for doctor’s appointments since the beginning of February. Being isolated does not bother me. But my reality is that I am dealing with so very much stress right now that I am not feeling like myself. I started blogging as a means to recover from PTSD. For an entire year I blogged about things I was grateful for. It was an uplifting way to find things that were good in my life instead of the painful memories that caused the PTSD. It was a very useful tool in my recovery.

Blogging was for my own good and if others read, liked, or commented, that was a plus. Eventually I was in a good enough place that I allowed myself to change my format and blog topics. I was frightened of the unknown. I knew how to look for gratitude. I did not know how to be a “blogger” like the rest of the wonderful blogs I read. I wondered if I should just stop blogging all together. After all, I had accomplished what I set out to do. I moved through a multitude of strategies to recover. I was feeling emotionally healthy and happy.

I learned that there were so very many wonderful bloggers with topics I could respond to. This was a new way and purpose to blog. I could pick and choose from the many great opportunities out there. I tried to not only read the blogs but the comments also. It often led me to find other bloggers that also interested me.

Quite a long way to get to today’s topic. I have not been blogging much lately. I am having trouble focusing on what day it is. Too many days are spent in sadness. I am not concerned about being at home. I have been here isolated because of medical issues. I am finally recovered from shingles and now I am faced with overwhelming emotional pain.

I am not sleeping well. I am always tired. I rarely get out of bed. I have no desire to eat. I force myself to have two meals a day to keep my body from being further worn down. I am in tears more often than I care to admit. I am having nightmares. I wake with nausea and headaches every day. The days all blend together. I am having trouble seeing light at the end of the tunnel.

 I am sad about my family members dealing with extremely difficult issues. I am sad for loved ones that I am not in contact with. I am sad for my personal issues. I am sad about the economy which will affect my financial stability.  I am sad for what the world is going through. I panic every time my spouse leaves the house. I fear what will happen if he brings home the virus. We both have medical issues and I am at the age to be concerned. I fear for my well-being. It is all so very hard to deal with.

I can’t seem to find joy for any length of time. The times when friends contact me, and we share a conversation give me rare moments of happiness. I seem to immediately return to apathy after we talk. I don’t want to do anything. I have a multitude of things that could normally bring me joy. Nothing seems to give me joy right now. I know others have problems also. That adds to my sadness.

I am searching for a path to find joy. I am reaching out to people I believe can help. I don’t care what day it is anymore. I just want something to look forward to.

8 thoughts on “#WDIIA – April 6 – Sadness

  1. My path sounds similar. I started off very much about my health, but now it is all sorts. I find writing about good memories helps me. For one, it is quite pleasurable content. For another, just the process of knocking a post into shape takes my mind away from the present. Tell us how you met your partner?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Some memories are pleasant and deserve our attention. Sometimes pleasant memories turn in sad realities.
      I am hoping to be able to dwell less on the sadness as I try to cope with my present. Thank you for commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lauren, you are entitled to every single one of your feelings. But it seems to me you’ve taken on the burdens of other folks. I pray you will release these to God and let Him bear them. Your job right now is to (1) celebrate the release of the shingles former hold on you and (2) take care of yourself. I loooved your gratitude journal…it brought me joy. Love and hugs, Memarge:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Marge, You are correct in so many ways. I do need to release my fears to G-d. But it is hard for me to not worry about my children and grandchildren. I am thrilled that I am finally no longer in pain. I am grateful for that.
      I still than my creator for the good in my life, but right now I am feeling overwhelmed. Thank you for your support.

      Like

  3. Always here, always listening. For me, it is helpful to read and focus on uplifting things. I must have boundaries because delving too deep in other’s pain makes us less capable of keeping our head above water. Not an easy task perhaps, but worthwhile. To me, it is acknowledging our own self worth and then supporting ourselves in ways we may never have contemplated before. Hang in there. Stay present. Do what is best for you in this time and this place.

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.