On the Lighter Side

My “Almost” Cobb Salad

While running errands a few days ago I treated myself to a Cobb Salad at The Habit. It’s a fast food restaurant. I wanted to be good so I avoided the yummy burger and fries they make. I ordered their Cobb, without bacon of course. It was great. I also didn’t use thier dressing. It was not so good.

I got the idea in my head that I can make this at home. After all, I’ve been making Cheesecake Factory’s Shiela’s Chicken Salad at home for a long time. I like mine better than theirs.

I went to Costco yesterday after water physical therapy. Believe it or not, I was in and out in just a couple of minutes. I bought myself a rotisserie chicken so that I could make a Cobb Salad today.

In order to remind myself of the necessary ingredients, this morning I looked up the recipe online. Low and behold, I was off base on numerous ingredients.

I got out a big bowl and added my organic spring mix instead of the iceberg or romain lettuce called for. Does it really matter?

I then added my grape tomatoes. I did not use the larger tomatoes they called for. Does it really matter?

I retrieved the hard boiled eggs I made yesterday from my fridge. As I cracked them they were a pain in the behind to peel. I almost tossed them in my salad with tiny bits of shells on them. That would definitely have mattered. I chose to fight the eggs even if I lost some of it.

I picked up my avocado from the counter. Most of it was overripe and unusable. I cut out the good parts and added them to my salad. Then I took an avocado out of my fridge. Only part of it was OK to use. This salad was not as easy to make as I expected.

The blue cheese crumbles were perfect. I restrained myself from adding too much and ruining it.

I do not eat pork bacon, but before my cancer I did eat beef bacon. Now, I am not supposed to eat any processed meat. I enjoyed the salad without bacon when I ate out, but knowing that I ate beef bacon at home is a different story. Does it really matter?

Oh such a silly thing to be fretting about. I made my almost a cobb salad. It was amazing. No, it was not a ” by the books” cobb salad. But it was a step toward normal thoughts.

I am grateful for my almost cobb salad.

Today was not a day of tears. It was a day of fun.

26 thoughts on “On the Lighter Side

  1. I like how you made that salad work just right with the things you had and especially the idea to do it at home. I like salads, but whew, they are kind of detailed with all the chopping and stuff. I like a lot of different things in them, I guess that’s why. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.